SONIKKU - Joyful Death-LP-Bella Union- BELLA956V-Muckypeg records

Joyful Death

  • £21.99
    Unit price per 

To order - Dispatched within 5 days

Artist : SONIKKU
Album : Joyful Death
Label : Bella Union
Release date : April 17th 2020
Vinyl colour : Green
Catalogue Number : BELLA956V
Barcode : 5400863020613

  1. Let The Light In (feat. Douglas Dare)
  2. WKND (feat. LIZ)
  3. Don't Wanna Dance With You (feat. Aisha Zoe)
  4. Sweat (feat LIZ)
  5. X Hopeless Romantic (feat, Little Boots)
  6. Remember To Forget Me (feat. Chester Lockhart)
  7. Joyful Death (feat. Tyler Matthew Oyer)
  8. Remember 2 Forget Me (Piano Version) (feat. Douglas Dare)

LP pressed on mint green vinyl with digital download

SONIKKU announces the release of their new album ‘Joyful Death’, via Bella Union.

A fluent, fertile and full-colour hybrid of vibrant Italo-house, liquid synth-pop, righteous disco and French philosophical asides, it’s an album that signals the emergence proper of SONIKKU - a fully formed dancefloor artist. It’s also a farewell of sorts, perhaps, but with an emphatic rebirth at its heart. “This album feels like a transformation in the sense that I’m creating the music I’ve always wanted to make. A fully realised, coherent pop record that showcases my craft as a song-writer and producer.”

Total control of their craft is swiftly asserted on ‘Let The Light In’, where the influences of lost-in-music disco and the Pet Shop Boys merge under vocals from immersive, exploratory British singer-songwriter Douglas Dare. The pace accelerates as ‘WKND’ gets into a groove pitched somewhere between Madonna, Daft Punk and Indeep, with LA future-pop singer LIZ primed for dancefloor abandon on vocals. Meanwhile, SONIKKU’s independent intent is firmly asserted on the freestyle-inspired ‘Don’t Wanna Dance with You’, where singer Aisha Zoe coolly brushes off unwanted advances in favour of dancefloor pleasures.

LIZ assumes vocal duties again for ‘Sweat’, a song fully equipped to make dancefloor devotees do as its title suggests. Dreamily melodic evidence of SONIKKU’s dynamism (and love of melancholy Swedish electro-pop queen Robyn) beckons on ‘X Hopeless Romantic’, where Little Boots contributes a sweetly loved-up vocal over a sublimely infectious chorus.

Pummelling synths signal a dramatic shift of pace on the almost electro-darkwave dash of ‘Remember To Forget Me’, where actor/singer Chester Lockhart presides over a summit meeting between Depeche Mode and New Order. Performance artist Tyler Matthew Oyer takes the vocals for the Italo-disco-inspired title-track, a vividly imagined album manifesto - of sorts - inspired to varying degrees by an 1892 poem, French thinker Gilles Deleuze’s concept of the “ b o d y wit h o u t o r g a n s ” and a 1997 anime called The End Of Evangelion. Finally, that grand piano takes over as Dare returns, presiding over an achingly stripped-back version of ‘Remember To Forget Me’.

With help from friends and artists they admires on vocals, ‘Joyful Death’ is a hugely confident and self-contained leap forward for SONIKKU after his time as a feted DJ. Having moved from Derby to London at the age of 18, Donson worked as an intern (at MTV, Dazed & Confused, SHOWstudio and elsewhere) then turned to DJing (from London to Tokyo, Paris and Berlin) after they were signed to London label Lobster Theremin. Though they continues to DJ regularly at Tottenham’s LGBTQ rave-up Adonis, they have extra ambitions in mind: “ I love DJing but I’m more looking for ward to developing a live show. ”

Genre: Electronic
Style: Disco, Nu-Disco

Shipping options

You will be offered a range of shipping options in the checkout area of the site when you place your order. Shipping is free for orders over £60 in the UK (all records to be shipped together).

Delivery service Value of order Price
Royal Mail Signed For® 2nd Class £0.00–£59.99 £3.95
Royal Mail Signed For® 1st Class £0.00–£59.99 £4.58 upto 1kg
£6.45 over 1kg
Free delivery £60.00 and up Free

For more information on shipping and orders visit the help & support page